Apartment renovation: Hunting down the perfect rug

A few years ago, I went on vacation to Turkey. On one of the sightseeing tours, we went to see a Turkish rug manufacturer. On our way to the manufacturer, we drove through a small village and still to this day, I’ll never forget the scene from the streets of that village.

There was a rug laying on the street and a man was riding his motorcycle over the freaking rug. We were all a bit perplexed and asked our tourist guide what was going on. She told us that the more the rug is worn out greater its value. I think she as joking! She was probably just as surprised to see the rug-over-motorcycle-riding-guy, as were we.

Anyways, this post is dedicated to the rug loving people. I wasn’t one of them until recently. I didn’t like rugs because as a child I had to vacuum the floor every Saturday and we had a lot of rugs which are hard to vacuum. I hated it. But, I’m all grown up now and we have iRobot. I know that the British often put carpets in their rooms as an alternative to wood flooring. I never liked that. However, I like rugs that cover a part of the floor and the rest is exposed.

I know that the British often put carpets in their rooms as an alternative to wood flooring. I never liked that. However, I like rugs that cover a part of the floor and the rest is exposed.

I want to incorporate a few rugs in my apartment, but I want them to be smaller so I can remove them in the summer.

One of the places, I believe, that will definitely need a rug is the living room. I want the rug to go partially under the sofa, but not entirely. Because I want my sofa to be grey, I think, a more colourful rug will help me make the place feel more vibrant and cosy.

Another room where I want a rug is my bedroom. Although the flooring in my bedroom will be oak parquet, I still much more prefer putting down my legs on a soft rug rather than a semi-cold wood flooring. A bedroom is a relaxation area and I want the colour of the rug to reflect that hence the more natural colours.

I also want a smaller rug in my bathroom. I want to place it in the middle of the room. Since the tiles will most likely be marble I want the rug to scream colour.

Love the contrast between the grey sofa and pink in the rug.:
Mae Woven African mud cloth pillows. @maewoven maewoven.etsy.com:

 

Grey with Persian (?) rug and white floorboards:

exotic rug / living room makeover / Camille Styles home:

Our bedroom needs that rug. http://www.rugsusa.com/rugsusa/rugs/rugs-usa-moroccan-shag/ivory/200MTVS28A-2608.html:

Intricate geometric greatness with Rugs USA's Bosphorus BD30 Honeycomb Labyrinth Rug!:

 

//Before and After : Client Freakin Fabulous// AMBER INTERIORS // PHOTOS TESSA NEUSTADT:

 

Farmhouse Living: Authentic. Hardworking. Warm. Intentional. —:
Picture source: Pinterest

Author: Katarina

A thirty-something individual. Love interior design. Interested in fashion. Eager to renovate my apartment.

Leave a Reply

